‪#‎ItsYallTurnNow‬

My life is not your teaching moment.
My tears are not yours to drink.
My pain is not here to grow your empathy.
My words are not your thoughts to think

White folks, it’s your turn now
To take up your cross and walk
To do your work of justice
To stand up in your world and talk

I will not leave you forsaken
I will still include you in my prayers
but I will not do your work for you
I will not ease your cares

It’s your turn now to bear the fear
Of facing the demon called Race
It’s your turn now to stand and fight
And set your own healing pace

We can stand beside each other
And build the Kingdom grand
But we cannot be actor and spectator
And expect to save this land.

So take your stand and do your work
Stare down your fear, don’t blink
My life is not your teaching moment.
My tears are not yours to drink.

Leave a Reply

