June 18, 2015

Today my teardrops will not fall,
They puddle beneath my eyes
They gather there in gentle mourning
They wait for reason to dry

Today my teardrops will not fall
They will not run away
They take their silent sentinel’s stand
They await the blessed day

When hate and guns won’t find each other
When orphans will not weep
When widow and widower need not cry
For their spouses they get to keep

When a nation will not wonder why
When a people will not divide
When murder is simply always wrong
and morality takes no sides

Today my teardrops will not fall
I do not wish to cry
I hold them high as testament
To martyrs who have died

I will hold my tears today,
In silent stead they’ll stand
’til justice reigns and fear no more
Will bleed our trouble land.

Leave a Reply

