A PRAYER FOR LETTING GO

I will not fight our war today

I weary of this plight

It matters not the win or loss

The proof of wrong or right.

I call for truce I call for peace

I call for letting go

I call the hatred now to cease

I call for wrath to slow

I call for stillness in my soul

I call for letting go

I call for sweet surrender

of the bindings to my foe

I call for silence of the whys

I call for letting go

I do not need to understand

to say to capture “No!”

I call withdrawal from the battlefield

My encampments now I leave

I crave no more for victory

No more my pride to please

I will not fight this fight today

Nor try your will to bend

I will not moan or cry today

This chronic strife I’ll end

I will not seek to wrap myself

In the sympathies of others

I will not beg for validation

from one friend then another

I will not plead my victim’s case

To my rightness pure

I will still my neediness

my righteousness so sure

I will surrender vanity

and all my sinful prides

and let go profanity

and let modesty abide

I have no need for win or loss

I have only need of peace

I wish my soul to once more heal

My pain to find release

I will not fight our war today

Nor try your will to bend

I will not moan or cry today

This chronic strife I end.

Leave a Reply

